02 Jan 2018
264 times

Neymar has been crowned Brazil's best player in Europe for the third time in four years after he managed to wrestle the title away from Liverpool star Philippe Coutinho after another sensational 12 months.

The award, voted for by the public, former players and journalists, was previously won by the Paris Saint-Germain superstar in 2014 and 2015 during his time at Barcelona.

He has once again triumphed in 2017 though, earning 27.71 per cent of the vote to beat Coutinho, who took second overall on 16.64 per cent, and Real Madrid defender Marcelo, who completed the top three on 14.43 per cent.

Neymar completed a world-record transfer from Barcelona to PSG for £198million in the summer and has gone from strength to strength in the French capital, scoring 17 goals in 20 appearances.

Despite his victory, the 25-year-old was comfortably beaten in the public section of the poll by Barcelona's Paulinho, who came out on top with 31.83 per cent. Neymar took second on 14.43 per cent while Coutinho trailed just behind on 13.57 per cent.

Former Tottenham midfielder Paulinho has flourished since arriving at the Nou Camp, delivering some vital performances and scoring six goals in 22 appearances.


Despite coming second in the public phase of the competition, it was the votes cast by the former professionals that swung the result in Neymar's favour.

Former players such as Taffarel, Marcio Santos and Juninho handed Neymar 39.39 per cent of their votes. 


Coutinho was way back in second on 17.17 per cent while Marcelo edged into third ahead of Paulinho with 10.10 per cent.

The media section of the vote saw success for Marcelo, who took top spot on 30.30 per cent.

Neymar was only narrowly behind in second on 29.29 per cent with Coutinho completing the top three on 19.19 per cent.

Victory means Neymar, who will receive his trophy at a ceremony in Paris in February, joins his current club team-mate Thiago Silva with three victories in the poll, which launched with inaugural winner Kaka in 2008.

Other winners include Luis Fabiano in 2009 and Maicon in 2010 when they were playing for Sevilla and Inter Milan respectively.


Rate this item
(0 votes)

Contact Us

P. O. Box T9, Taifa-Accra

Ghana, West Africa


t: +233 (0)30 397 1322
t: +233 (0)27 439 0500